Lakeshore Records To Release “The Wizard Of Lies – Original HBO Films Soundtrack” On Friday, May 19

With Original Music By Evgueni Galperine & Sacha Galperine

Lakeshore Records will release “The Wizard of Lies – Original HBO Films Soundtrack” digitally on May 19th. The album features the original score by composers Evgueni Galperine and Sacha Galperine (“Nine Lives,” “The Family,” “The Past”).

Debuting in May, HBO Films’ “The Wizard of Lies,” examines Bernie Madoff’s Ponzi scheme – his deception, lies and cover-up, all as the financier’s wife and sons are catapulted into a harsh and unrelenting spotlight. A modern take on a scheme that dates back to the 1920s called for a score that blends both modern and classic elements to tell this tragic tale of what led to a scheme toppling and the subsequent aftermath. Director Barry Levinson turned to the writing duo of Evgueni and Sacha Galperine – who themselves blend modern and traditional musical methods and training.

“Our goal with this score was to find the right musical color palette that would match this extraordinary character and the incomprehensible path he chose, taking the people around him—his clients as, well as his own family—on a descent into hell,” said Sacha.

“A major source of inspiration for us was the symbol of the Ponzi Scheme,” added Evgueni. “The cold mathematical pattern of it, the spiral that was set to get bigger and bigger beyond imagination until breaking inevitably into pieces. We tried to translate this mechanical fate into music, with all its strangeness, its suffocation, its absence of humanity.”

Brothers Evgueni and Sacha Galperine relocated to France, from their native Russia in 1990, to complete the classical music training they’d begun in Moscow. Soon after arriving in Paris, Evgueni was drawn to composing film scores while still studying symphonic composition and electro-acoustic music at the National Conservatory (CNSM) in Paris. Sacha turned to rock and electronic music after receiving a first prize for violin performance at the Conservatory of Versailles.

Evgueni and Sacha Galperine are equally at ease and focused on storytelling, whether working on independent films — over a dozen in Europe and Asia — mass-market films, or contributing music to blockbusters like M. Night Shyamalan’s “Split,” and Garry Ross’ “The Hunger Games.” Their international credits include Luc Besson’s “The Family,” Asghar Farhadi’s “The Past,” Eric Lartigau’s “La Famille Bélier,” Alix Delaporte’s “Le Dernier Coup de Marteau” (official selection at the Venice IFF), Nicolas Provosts “The Invader” (Best Music award at Ghent Film Festival), Yilmas Arslan’s “Brudermord,” and Jiang Wenli’s “Lan.”

Their recent credits include writing the score of the acclaimed French TV show “Le Baron Noir,” Courtney Hunt’s “The Whole Truth” and Barry Sonnenfeld’s “Nine Lives.” 2017 will see the premiere of “Loveless,” directed by Andrey Zvyagintsev (“Leviathan”), in competition at the Cannes Film Festival in May.

HBO Films presents “The Wizard of Lies,” premiering May 20th. Lakeshore Records will release “The Wizard of Lies – Original HBO Films Soundtrack” digitally on May 19th.

To pre-order the album visit

The Wizard of Lies (Music from the HBO Film) Evgueni Galperine & Sacha Galperine:

  1. The Wizard of Lies
  2. A New Start
  3. Ponzi Scheme
  4. It’s Not Enough
  5. Nightmare
  6. FBI
  7. 150 Years
  8. The Club Colette Jam / Big Noise From Winnetka Medley – The Club Colette Band
  9. Doubts
  10. Ruth Call
  11. I Revered Him
  12. I Have To Talk To You All
  13. Losing It
  14. The Pills
  15. The Boys Wouldn’t Sign
  16. Make It Right
  17. My Father Is Dead To Me

James McDonald

Originally from Dublin, Ireland, James is a Movie Critic and Celebrity Interviewer with over 30 years of experience in the film industry as an Award-Winning Filmmaker.
No Comment

Leave a Reply