Book Review: ‘The Cutaway’ Is A Great Debut Novel

“I loved every minute and thoroughly enjoyed my tour of the characters and the ambiance of the TV studio, it was very well done.”


 

‘The Cutaway’ draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.

Virginia Knightly is a TV news producer who works out of Washington, D.C. She is bright, intelligent, and has a caring heart. When an item crosses her desk about an Evelyn Carney having been reported missing, something sets warning bells off in her head. She has a vision of this young woman, walking the same pathways she used to, drinking her coffee from the exact same coffee house, or maybe having a glass of wine with a friend. She becomes very real to Virginia and the small amount of detail released was that she met her husband to finish her marriage and then walked out into the night and was never seen again. Virginia did not become a class one news producer because she was pretty, something doesn’t seem right and that is the beginning of the story.

I loved every minute of it. Author Christina Kovac knows her stuff and she takes you into the world of broadcast news, the political chicanery that goes on, the backstabbing, the bonding with friends and co-workers in the hope that you won’t get steamrolled. This story involves police corruption, lusty meetings, and adulterous mischief. Kovac doesn’t spare you, she hits and hits hard, and Virginia is determined to find out who took this young woman’s life. The fact that some very high-ranking police officers who normally wouldn’t get involved in a case like this, are beginning to make their presence known, makes her more determined to find out what, or who is going down. The story twists and turns but it keeps you wanting more.

There is a brief interlude with one of her co-anchors, and it was nicely presented but at the end, you knew what was going to happen. It was the only predictable element in it but there you go. This book feels like it might just be the first in an ongoing series featuring Virginia Knightly. I loved every minute and thoroughly enjoyed my tour of the characters and the ambiance of the TV studio, it was very well done. A great first effort and very highly recommended.

Available in bookstores March 21st

Ann is originally from Dublin, Ireland and currently lives in Dallas, Texas. She was the secretary to the National Symphony Orchestra of Ireland for many years and is an avid book reader and reviewer.
No Comment

Leave a Reply

*

*

RELATED BY